Student Research: Municipal Solid Waste Management in India

In her MCP thesis, "The Role of Institutional Incentives in Municipal Solid Waste Management: a Case Study on Muzaffarnagar, India," Kate Mytty (MCP 2015) explored  the role of institutions and incentives in household waste collection through the lens of Muzaffarnagar, India.

Planning for Climate Change

"What does our future look like? We can't plan for the past anymore, we have to plan for our future climate." Dr. Danya Rumore, formerly a DUSP PhD student, joins the Re-Quilibrium podcast to discuss how she and other planners are helping communities take action in response to our changing climate. Particularly, they focus on Dr. Rumore's work helping coastal cities in the United States plan for and adjust to such challenges as flooding and rising sea levels.

Student Research: Army Installations of the Future

In his MCP thesis, "Army Installations of the Future: Urban + Shrinkage + Landscape," Dwight Howell (MCP 2015) explored ways for the U.S. Army to "plan for shrinkage," including a detailed case study for Fort Belvoir, VA.

New Book: Managing Climate Risks in Coastal Communities

Managing Climate Risks in Coastal Communities: Strategies for Engagement, Readiness and Adaptation

Lawrence Susskind (MIT | MCP 1970, PhD 1973), Danya Rumore (MIT | Phd 2015), Carri Hulet (MIT | MCP 2013) and Patrick Field (MIT | MCP 1994),Anthem Publishers, 2015

New interactive platform for the design of bus rapid transit systems

DUSP's Mobility Futures Collaborative and the Changing Places group at the MIT Media Lab have developed new interactive tools aimed to better communicate the possible impacts of new transit systems. The Media Lab and DUSP have partnered with the Barr Foundation to test these tools in a series of community engagement workshops to examine the impacts of Bus Rapid Transit (BRT) systems in greater Boston.

Carlo Ratti appointed as advisor to European Commission

Carlo Ratti, a professor of the practice in the MIT Department of Urban Studies and Planning, has been appointed as a special advisor to the president and commissioners of the European Commission. The appointment runs from March 5, 2015 to March 31, 2016.