Congratulations MIT Graduates!

Congratulations to the Class of 2017

At the Departmental Commencement Celebration on June 8, 2017, DUSP was pleased to welcome back Jeff Hebert (MCP 2004) as our Commencement Speaker.  Jeff holds three different titles in the City of New Orleans: Deputy Mayor, Chief Administrative Officer, and Chief Resilience Officer.

In addition to hearing from Jeff, the following year-end awards were announced at the event:

Departmental Awards

  • Outstanding Ph.D. Dissertation: Lyndsey Rolheiser, PhD '17, “Three Essays on Urban Economics”
  • Outstanding Ph.D. Teaching Assistant: Jeff Rosenblum
  • Outstanding MCP Thesis: Winner: Dennis Harvey, MCP '17, "After Retreat: Buyout Programs and Local Planning Goals after Hurricane Sandy"; Honorable Mention: Jess Myers, MCP '17, "Here There Be Dragons: Broadcasting Identity and Security in the Parisian Region"
  • O. Robert Simha Prize: Fall 2016 “Community Growth and Land Use Planning” class -- Jaswanth Madhavan, Scott Margeson, Fernando Montejo, Billy Ndengeyingoma
  • Excellence in Public Service Award: Justin Bates, MCP '12; Andy Cook, MCP '14
  • Flora Crockett Stephenson Writing Prize: Grant Tank Williams, MCP '17
  • AICP Outstanding Student Award: Maya Abood, MCP '17
  • Outstanding Contribution to the Intellectual Life of the Department: Sam Jung, MCP '17
  • Student Departmental Service Award: Carey Dunfey, MCP '17
  • Rolf R. Engler Award for Outstanding Service: Jim Harrington, Director of Facilities, SA+P

DUSP Student Council Awards

  • Excellence in Advising: Larry Susskind, Professor
  • Excellence in Teaching: Gabriella Carolini, Assistant Professor
  • Staff or Faculty Contribution to Student Life: Duncan Kincaid, Director, CRON
  • Hebbert Award for Student Contribution to DUSP: Carey Dunfey, Maya Abood
  • Special Acknowledgment: Mike Foster, GIS Specialist
The Department also distributed a booklet of Thesis and Dissertation Abstracts from 2016-2017.

Congratulations to our winners, and to the entire 2017 graduating class!