DUSP Students Win DOE "Better Buildings Case" Competition

An interdisciplinary team of ten MIT students won two awards in the Better Buildings Case Competition sponsored by the DOE. Nineteen schools competed and each team was assigned two cases; the results, announced by DOE Secretary Steven Chu at the White House, revealed that MIT won both its cases, the only team to do so. DUSP participants included Elena Alschuler, Brendan McEwen, Nikhil Nadkarni, Christopher Jones and Wesley Look, plus Kate Goldstein from architecture, Nan Zhao from the Media Lab, and Patrick Flynn, Neheet Trivedi, and Michael Zallow from Sloan. The faculty advisor was Harvey Michaels.